Grandma

I’ve lost my Gran.
She’s still there,
I see her every Sunday.
She still sits in her favourite chair by the fire,
which is always on, even in summer,
because she says she’s cold.

Sometimes when she sees me, she smiles,
asks how I am and how my friends are.
We natter about the neighbours,
gossip and giggle.
We play her old wartime music,
sing along together
even though I don’t know the words.
We laugh.

But sometimes when she sees me she’s confused,
doesn’t recognise me,
calls me the wrong name.
That makes me sad.

Sometimes she’s scared of me, and that’s worse.
Thinks I’m a doctor come to put her in a home,
or a thief after her jewellery and nick-nacks.

Sometimes she shouts and swears,
has tantrums and throws things,
kicks and scratches, bites.
Then I don’t recognise her,
and that breaks my heart.

I’ve lost my Gran.
She’s still there, frail body in her favourite chair.
But in her mind she’s gone away.

This entry was posted in Poetry for KS3 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandma

  1. PollyBurns2 says:

    I’m not a big fan of poetry but I absolutely loved this. At first I thought the gran had died and the narrator was saying that they remember her in the chair and can see her there and hear what she used to say. Then I realised what it’s really about and thought what a clever poem it is, beautifully conveying how it feels to recognise the outside of a person but not the inside. So sad. Loved it.

Leave me a comment. I'd love to know what you think.

