Le Mur Parlant

I heard about this blog post from Joe Dale at the Language Show and I think it’s amazing! Thanks to Kelda Richards for writing it in the first place, and Joe for telling me about it.

Related posts: The Language Show 2012 – What I Learnt from Rachel Hawkes
The Language Show 2012 – What I Learnt from Isabelle Jones
The Language Show 2012 – What I Learnt from Helen Myers
The Language Show 2012 – What I Learnt from everyone else

keldarichards

Le Mur Parlant 

Or How to Create Augmented Reality Talking Displays

I recently discovered Aurasma, a great free app that allows you to create augmented reality (AR).

Result?  My year 7s think I can perform magic and I’m ‘cool’.

I have started a ‘Talking Wall’ in my classroom to display pupil ‘work’ using the app.  It is a bit fiddly to start with, and I am still refining the process as I am working between my personal iPod Touch and MacBooks (until I manage to procure iPads for class use).

The idea was a simple one – pupils often produce classroom displays of written work, but I wanted to motivate my lower ability year 7 groups to speak.  Having covered the topic of hobbies in French they conducted a short survey that was filmed and inserted into a key word poster.  How great to be able to share oral work…

View original post 772 more words

This entry was posted in Languages and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave me a comment. I'd love to know what you think.

