Maths with spaghetti

I love these ideas for practical maths lessons with spaghetti – wish we could have had maths lessons like these when I was at school.

Rosalind Martin - Bournemouth Maths Tutor

Introduction – Where did the spaghetti idea come from?

I’m a sucker for quirky Mathematical instruments and a couple of weeks ago, I got out my weird protractors. Most of my sets of protractors are full circles but the strangest set have all different sizes of circular holes in them, as well as the normal degree markings around the edge.

I gave the Year 5 extension group a protractor each and asked them what they were. They were pretty hesitant except for one boy who said, very confidently, “It’s a spaghetti measurer!”.

This appealed to me for several reasons. One was the fact he had obviously been participating in life in the kitchen, asking questions and getting answers. Another was the fact that my Year 6 extension group has just finished their work on areas of shapes, and they found measuring the area of circles in square centimetres a big…

View original post 989 more words

This entry was posted in Maths and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave me a comment. I'd love to know what you think.

