A letter to Michael Gove

Jordan has really posted this letter to Michael Gove and is eagerly awaiting a reply. In the meantime he’d love you to leave a comment below and tell him whether you agree with his views.

Dear Mr Gove

I am writing to tell you that I think SATs should be banned in this country. I have several reasons to support my view.

Firstly I believe the SATs put undue pressure on young children, often resulting in them performing poorly.

Secondly, we don’t learn anything new in Year 6 because of all the practice tests we do. If we didn’t do so many practise tests, we could learn interesting things like how cars are built and why your funny bone tingles when you hit it.

I believe if we got our tests back to see what we got wrong, that could be useful because then we could ask our tutors to work on those questions. However, we do not get them back which is not very helpful.

In my opinion, the only good thing about SATs is that our teachers give us a drink and a biscuit before we do them.

Please could you take into consideration what I have written, and abolish them?

Yours sincerely,

Jordan

This entry was posted in English, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A letter to Michael Gove

  1. n-gauge says:

    I completely agree with you, Jordan. What a very well-written letter. I’d like to think that Mr Gove will pay more attention to you than he does to teachers… we shall see!

  2. Karen says:

    What a wonderful letter. As a parent, I think you make an excellent case. Asking for feedback from the papers is a very sensible suggestion but even better if,as you say, you could focus on learning new things. As a teacher, I think that is a superb letter. Well done.

  3. Mandy ryan says:

    A very well written letter, I do hope that you receive a reply from Mr Gove, and that he seriously considers your points.

  4. Andrew says:

    I completely agree with everything you said. I took SATs 5 years ago, and I remember thinking exactly the same thing (especially about spending more time in year 6 actually learning), so I’m glad that someone has taken the initiative to formally complain about it. Unfortunately, Mr Gove had a documented history of despising children and teachers alike, and not caring at all about what they learn as opposed to what they are examined on. I hope your letter makes him see at least some sense!

  5. Hannah Boydon says:

    Great letter Jordan. Me and my class are with you 100%.

  6. Mrs S Dawson says:

    Hi Jordan,
    This is a wonderful letter. I do hope that Mr Gove reads it carefully and sends you a reply.
    I entirely agree with you. There is more to education than taking tests.

    All the best,

    Mrs S Dawson

  7. Mayumi-H says:

    Jordan,
    Congratulations on this letter! You make a good case for abolishing the SATs, rather than simply complaining about them. Your point about using school time for actual learning – instead of taking practise tests – is one felt all over. Our students need the freedom to learn, and our teachers need the freedom to teach. That is the true meaning of education.
    I hope students who follow you in Year 6 will soon be able to devote their time to more meaningful endeavours than which box to circle for question 22.
    Bravo to you!
    Mayumi

  8. ianbraisby says:

    Jordan, you have written an excellent letter. You make some important points and I am sure many Year 6 students would agree with your arguments. I know my sister would, and she is a Year 6 teacher who would love to teach her class more exciting things instead of doing practice papers! I hope Mr Gove reads your letter carefully and that you can enjoy learning more interesting things when you get to a new school next year. And although you don’t like them, good luck in your SATS. If you write like this, you should have no problems.

  9. Jennifer says:

    A letter to Mr Gove objecting to SATs – what a good idea. I agree with your comments entirely. I hope you get a reply soon. I am sure lots of people will be eager to know the outcome of your letter.

  10. Ron says:

    A well written letter Jordan with some good objective arguments. I think the whole concept of SATs is self defeating in that every school is afraid to fail, so inflicts constant practice papers on their pupils, instead of teaching the new and interesting things that you so desperately want. I would love to see Mr Gove’s reply.

Leave me a comment. I'd love to know what you think.

